End of Course Reflection

I have enjoyed taking Educational Technology 501 this semester.  Many of the concepts we studied were new to me, which was exciting and challenging at the same time.

I signed up for the course unsure of whether or not I was going to continue with the graduate program. I discovered that I really enjoy learning about anything, but learning about things related to education was more appealing.

However, I’m not a big fan of technology for a number of reasons both personally and professionally. I looked at this course and graduate program as a way to explore its benefits to teaching in the classroom and being open minded despite my feelings.

Another challenge I thought was important with my personality dealt with communication. I prefer face to face and a physical classroom environment for learning because it seems easier to me. It may also be because I prefer to be in the same room as human beings versus virtually on a computer screen.

Some of the strategies and creative resources I used to deal with these challenges include relying on peers, asking a lot of questions, and trusting the course and program is catered to all students regardless of experience with educational technology and online courses.

My RSS lesson plan was my best artifact. Though I didn’t know much about RSS, creating a lesson plan was something I was familiar with. Many assignments I struggled with because I didn’t know how to incorporate music into them and/or not being a teacher currently made it difficult to connect with assignments.

I’m currently not teaching, but there were a lot of new concepts and tools that would be useful if I were teaching general music, band or choir. I think if I keep my work organized I can come back to my portfolio when I return to the classroom to put ideas into motion.

Leave a Reply

