Digital Divide/Digital Inequality

The past couple of weeks I have conducted research on digital divide and digital inequality.  The presentations in two formats are below, along with my reflection of the assignment.

The pdf presentation of Digital Divide/Digital Inequality:

Digital Divide and Digital Equality Haiku Deck

The link to the presentation of Digial Divide/Digital Inequality:

https://www.haikudeck.com/p/WEJrPMJrmW/digital-divide-and-digital-equality

The information I researched regarding digital divide and digital inequality did not surprise me.  Overall, it seems like more and more people across the globe are able to access the internet.  As an educator, however, I’ve never examined the importance of this in regards to how it impacts education because I have not used technology in the classroom a lot when I was a teacher from 2007-2011.

I enjoyed reading the Presentation Zen book, and I found myself laughing at times when it described the way Powerpoint is being used.  During my time in the military, whenever we had to conduct professional development training, we referred to presentations using powerpoint as “death by powerpoint.”  This book really opened my eyes up to a different way of presenting, so much that I may re-read the book more carefully a second time.  Some things I took away from the multimedia principles include less is more, do not use fancy transitions such as dissolve and fade, and utilize both humor and telling a story to connect with the audience.  These presentation ideas make so much sense, but it may be because practicing the norm is the easy way out.  I will not only take this into consideration with presentations, but other areas in lesson planning.

One thing that caught my attention regarding digital divide and digital inequality is I never really thought about comparing it to the telephone.  Once there was a time when everyone had a telephone, it is unheard of if you don’t.  Now we are looking at internet the same way. I also never really thought about digital divide and/or digital inequality as being an issue.  Maybe because I am old-fashioned and even when I was getting my Masters Degree in 2007-2009 I did not have internet at my house.  I didn’t even check e-mail every day.  I do understand that access anywhere 24/7 is beneficial, but at the same time I don’t like how it’s affecting society.  I completely agree with educators that there must be a balance between traditional classroom learning vs. technology and how it shouldn’t replace the teacher.  I just don’t like how we feel “connected” using things such as Facebook when really are we spending time with the people who are physically in are life, not just on the computer screen.  Yes, things like Skype are great when before all we had was the telephone.  But I guess I just want to see technology used appropriately and healthy.  I don’t see it being healthy when there is a group of five or more people hanging out somewhere, yet everyone is on their phone.  Are there areas where we fail to truly connect when we are physically present with each other?  That is the direction where I would not want to go.

With the knowledge gained in this project, I will definitely try to explore the technology tools available today and keep up to date with advances and new technologies that come out.  When I return to teaching in the classroom, whether it is in two years or ten years, I definitely plan on incorporating technology into my lesson plans.  If I choose another career path outside of education, I do think this information is pertinent and can be utilized in some way in any profession.  I think it is beneficial to my growth as a professional, in any job setting.

If I had more time, I would conduct more research and elaborate on possible realistic solutions to digital divide and digital inequality.  I would definitely explore other multimedia options other than powerpoint and haiku deck, since it is the first time I’ve ever used anything like haiku deck.  Finally, I would come up with ways I can use this information, and this type of media in my current profession.

Leave a Reply

